Highlands News

RFS recognises some of its finest


Eight Illawarra RFS personnel have been awarded Commissioners Commendations for outstanding service to the organisation at the RFS awards.

Norelle Pullen, Narelle Rainey, Tony Hurry, David Kirkwood and Raymond Parsons were recognised for their combined 93-years commitment to after-hours operations.

Bulli Firefighter Brian Baker was celebrated for decades of service while Inspector Michael Gray and District officer Matt Reeves also received commendations.

The Illawarra dominated the awards picking up eight of the 32 awards presented.

Illawarra District Manager Superintendent Greg Wardle was full of praise for the recipients.

“These local firefighters have been recognised for their outstanding work and diligence, going above and beyond what is reasonably expected of them.

"Their work has made a significant difference to both the community and the RFS.

“Not only do emergency service members undertake high risk activities during incidents, they often work above and beyond what is reasonably expected in a range of other functions," said Superintendent Wardle.

Image: NSW RFS

Tags: RFS, awards