Highlands News

Changes to fire danger rating system

fire danger rating july 20 2022

Fire danger ratings are being streamlined across the country.

Six categories are being replaced with four -- moderate, high, extreme and catastrophic.

RFS Southern Highlands Inspector David Stimson said it's all about simplifying the current system.

"After an incredible amount of work done by all the fire agencies throughout Australia, there has been a unified position agreed upon to update the fire danger rating system,

"So it'll be national and the same whichever state you go to,

"It's designed to be a lot simpler for the messaging that will go out to our communities,"Inspector Stimson said.

Image: NSW Rural Fire Service

Tags: fire, bushfires, NSW Rural Fire Service