Shoalhaven News

Eight in line for Rotary emergency service awards


The Shoalhaven has eight finalists in the NSW  Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards to be announced at the Mollymook Golf Club on Friday night.

Paid workers and volunteer finalists are Steven Angelo, Allan Brook, Danielle Carter and Alec Percival from Marine Rescue NSW, Matthew Potter NSW from Ambulance NSW, Anthony Bellette from Surf Life Saving NSW and Rural Fire Service members Wendy Roberts and Velma Walker.

Marine Rescue Commissioner Stacey Tannos and member for South Coast Shelley Hancock will present the awards at Mollymook to coincide with a live ceremony in Sydney that will be broadcast into the club via satellite.

Overall winners from the awards night will go on to represent NSW at the National Emergency Services Community
Awards to be held on Monday November 23 at Government House, Canberra with His Excellency, the Governor General, The Hon David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) and Her Excellency, Mrs Linda Hurley.

Shoalhaven awards chairperson Phil Presgrave said the awards recognise emergency service personnel, both paid and volunteers, who go above and beyond what is required in their roles, whether that be volunteering at their local footy club or helping out with a community event.

He said, a a result of the bush fires and covid, some amazing stories have come out of the Shoalhaven during 2020.


Tags: SES, Shoalhaven Marine Rescue, Rotary, Rotary awards, NSW ambulance