Shoalhaven News

Fines to be issued for those who don't vote


Shoalhaven residents face fines if they don't vote in the local government elections on Saturday December 4.

Enrolled voters in the Shoalhaven and Kiama can pre-poll, do a postal vote or hit the ballot box on election day.

Voting is compulsory for Australian residents aged 18 and over.

Cameron Whalan from the NSW Electoral Commission said fines apply for those who fail to vote.

"Penalties start at $55 but the best course of action is of course to avoid that entirely by just making sure that you've got a vote in by 6pm Saturday December 4," Whalan said.

Image: NSW Electoral Commission

Tags: shoalhaven city council, Kiama Council, council elections